Wage Claims in Oregon
For both employees and employers, there are many ways in which disputes over wages can occur. These include such instances or allegations of failure to pay wages or compensation owed, failure to pay for overtime worked or for “off the clock” work, or improper deductions from wages. Misclassification of employees as independent contractors can also adversely affect their pay, whether this was done for that purpose or otherwise. If you have not been paid the wages or compensation to which you are entitled, or you are an employer who has been accused of unfair payment practices, talk to a Portland employment law attorney.
An attorney can review the specifics of your case, evaluate its strengths and weaknesses and determine the best way to approach your situation. Specific laws exist that govern pay and payroll deduction requirements, overtime and employee compensation. They include the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and many additional state and federal laws. These regulations can protect individuals and companies from unjust outcomes in such disputes when applied by insightful legal counsel.
The FLSA is the federal labor law that establishes standards for minimum wage, overtime pay, recordkeeping, and other issues that affect employees who work in the private sector, as well as within federal, local, or state governments. Some of the basic provisions under the FLSA include a national minimum wage of $7.25 per hour, as well as the requirement that an employee receive at least one and a half times their hourly pay for any time worked beyond 40 hours in a week. FLSA also requires employers to keep detailed and accurate records about the time worked and wages earned by each employee. Finally, the federal law also provides many regulations that aim to protect underage workers from being exploited or being forced to labor in unsafe conditions.
Oregon employees are protected even more by the state’s wage and hour laws than by the FLSA. Oregon’s minimum wage, as of January 1, 2013, is $8.95 per hour. As with the federal law, Oregon requires employers also to pay ‘time and a half’ wages to any employee who has worked more than 40 hours in a given week. Unlike the federal law, however, Oregon’s minimum wage applies across the board – to employees in training and minors, for example, as well as for regular adult employees – and the state requires employers to provide certain other benefits, such as an uninterrupted 30 minute meal period for any employee who works more than 6 hours per day.
Video with Attorney Daniel Kalish
Employment Lawyer Serving Portland, Oregon
If you are involved in an unresolved disagreement regarding wages, HKM Employment Attorneys can help. We can provide a quality, cost-effective defense to accused firms or aggressively represent individuals seeking the compensation they are rightfully owed. Our legal team is happy to answer your questions and offer comprehensive advice regarding the most strategic address of your case. We are able to investigate as thoroughly as needed in order to build a compelling claim and can litigate in state and federal courts. With approximately 40 years of combined experience, we can take care of you and relentlessly defend your rights.
Contact a Portland employment lawyer for legal help if you are involved in a wage dispute as an employer or employee.
Call 503-389-1130 or fill out this form and we will get back to you ASAP.