Northern Nevada Business Weekly recently reported that local employers must remain on alert for the extent to which wage-based regulations may be subject to federal revision and impact their management practices as a result. In particular, there may be a revision of current policy involving tip-pooling and businesses that would distribute said pool to employees that otherwise do not receive tips (e.g. a cook).
With laws subject to change, employers sometimes get it wrong. Sometimes it is up to employees to keep them honest.
Given the abundance of service-oriented jobs in Nevada, questions concerning wages often emerge. Even when employers try to do the right thing, there may be some circumstances in which they run afoul of the law. If you are an employee in Nevada, know that you have certain rights pertaining to how much you are paid and when you receive that pay. Should you require the advice or representation of a qualified attorney, do not hesitate to reach out. It may prove to be well worth your time.
Before seeking out legal assistance, you may wish to become better informed about the nature of wage laws and how they may impact you.
What Employees Should Know About Nevada Wage Laws
The most obvious and common concern is minimum wage itself. As per Nevada’s constitution, the status of said wage must be reviewed each year, wherein the minimum wage itself is increased to whatever extent cost of living has risen over the course of the prior year. That determination is made between the end of that year and April of the next year, at which point it is announced by the governor or a designated state actor and then takes effect in July.
As of late 2017, Nevada’s minimum wage is $7.25 per hour when qualifying health benefits are attached and $8.25 when they are not. Employers and employees alike may learn more about minimum wage and other compensation laws at the website for the Office of the Labor Commissioner. Compensation, wages, and laws pertaining to hours are governed by NRS Chapter 608.
Like a number of other considerations, wages cannot be subject to discriminatory practices by an employer. In other words, your boss cannot pay you differently from someone performing an identical job simply because of your gender or race (or membership in another protected category). This is guaranteed statewide by The Fair Pay and Equal Pay Acts. If you suspect that you have been paid less than you should have been due to a mistake or discrimination, you may wish to both discuss the matter with your employer and prepare to consult with an attorney.
As an employee, you are also entitled to negotiate your wage, file claims against practices that may be unfair, and of course, earn a unique rate of wages for any overtime work that you perform. There are also federal laws pertaining to things like overtime wages, requiring for example that non-exempt employees be paid at a higher rate for any more than 40 hours worked in a given week. Employers must also defer to Nevada law to every extent that it warrants higher overtime wages than are allotted by federal statute.
There are also unique wage laws pertaining to those who earn tips, trainees, apprentices, student workers, and others. If you fall into one of these unique categories, you may wish to perform additional research in a bid to assure that you are receiving proper wages. Regardless of your circumstances, there is nothing wrong with reaching out for legal help in the event a serious concern emerges.
How Nevada Employees can Find Legal Help When Wages are at Stake
HKM Employment Attorneys, LLP utilize their extensive experience in order to meet the legal needs of any employee who may have real grievances pertaining to wages or other issues. We pride ourselves on representing our clients professionally and successfully. To arrange an appointment, simply fill out the online contact form located here.